Disney

Over the past few days, while I have been slowly sewing away (will share soon!), I have been watching some Disney movies to pass the time! My thoughts:

Fantasia ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐: Fantasia is the epitome of underrated Disney movies. It is my childhood. It brought back memories I didn’t know I had in me!

Finding Dory ⭐⭐⭐: Young Dory (I think I thought Dory was a boy until this film..) is just the cutest! I love how her condition shines a bit of light on symptoms of ADD (and possibly ADHD) as well. I think it’s nice that with the number of kids I see with similar symptoms (they call it ‘memory loss’ but I’ve been in too many classrooms to be fooled!), there is finally someone they can relate to! I also appreciate how they use humour to depict her struggle- no, it’s not always funny, but I think it’s important for kids not to take themselves too seriously.

However, the seals being bullies doesn’t sit well with me! I get that it’s funny; kids live for those moments in films. But the teacher in me fears that kids will see that as a funny thing to do in real life. I think they could have included the theme of bullying in a more responsible way.

Towards the end I did get a little tired of the intricacies and dumb little details. Dory was reunited with her parents long before the movie ends, and the rest is just a little bit much for me, with this tank and that tank and blah blah blah. 

I also think it’s a little half- baked the way they had the beluga (or whatever it was?) using “echolocation” to see across town…like common. That’s just hella inaccurate and seems like cheating to me.

Tangled ⭐⭐⭐⭐: I actually liked this one more than I thought I would. What really struck me at first was how Rapunzel didn’t fall head over heels in love with what’s-his-name the moment she laid eyes on him. I appreciated that she spent a considerable (for a Disney movie..cough cough..Frozen) amount of time with him. He grew on her!

The one thing I didn’t like was that what’s-his-name didn’t have to pay for any of his crimes! I mean I don’t think he deserved to die, but I think it would have been right to have him punished somehow.

Zootopia ⭐⭐⭐⭐: Very witty for a kids movie, which makes it even more enjoyable for the older…ahem…audiences (big kids like me). The beginning was super intriguing…those one liners just pull you on in! Again, the ending was a little complicated and admittedly I did sort of zone in and out. Must be something kids enjoy more than adults. But overall very well done.

Oh, and the overall theme of inequality thinly cloaked by a blanket of animals was not lost on me. All I can say about that is it’s too real these days!

Leave a Reply

