Teaching

Disciplining kids on their phones during class watching the new Lorde video as if that’s not the first thing I’m going to do once they leave.

I can vividly remember being in their place. Being a kid, being with other kids I’d been with for so long it didn’t cross my mind that other kids existed. Eating homemade sandwiches in a room covered in posters of cartoon exclamation points and commas with eyes and arms. Posters of the rules of Passe Compose. Sitting in sock feet in chairs with tennis balls on the ends of the legs. Rushing outside when the bell rang to play Capture the Flag.

Now I’m on the other side. I understand so much more of what was happening then, now.

Being a young teacher is weird sometimes.

Leave a Reply

